Abdulrahman Al-Sumait University (SUMAIT University) is built on
the foundation of the former University College of Education
Zanzibar (UCEZ), established in 1998 by a Kuwait based charity
organization, the Africa Muslims Agency (AMA/Direct Aid) founded
in 1981.

Thus, the owner of the University is AMA/Direct Aid and it is a
product of its founder, Dr. Abdulrahman Hamoud Al-Sumait (1947-
2013), an accomplished physician, philanthropist, educator,
researcher, author, pioneer and AMA founding member from whom
the University bears its name.

The University is located at Chukwani on the Islands of Zanzibar in
the United Republic of Tanzania, about 5.5 kilometres from the
seaport of the Zanzibar Old Stone Town, 2.5 kilometres from Abeid
Karume International Airport and just 150 metres away from the
West Coast of the Indian Ocean.

The University occupies an area of 120,000 square metres granted
by the Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar. It is charmed by
beautiful green scenery of trees and fragrance of blooming flowers.
SUMAIT University is recognized by the Tanzania Commission for
Universities (TCU) which approved it as a private University on
14th May 2014 at its 63rd Meeting held on 27th March, 2014.

According to the TCU rules, all registered students prior to the
award of University upgrading status continued to graduate at the
Khartoum based International University of Africa (IUA). Students
who registered during the 2014/2015 academic year will graduate
from SUMAIT University beginning 2017.

SUMAIT University promotes morality, modesty, gender equality
and Islamic Culture in shaping the individual life and developing the
human resources for nation building. It advances knowledge,
education, learning, research and community participation.

The University is proud of its national and internationally recruited
academic staff from United Kingdom, India, Kenya, Sudan, Uganda,
Zambia, Egypt, Mali and Somalia. The current student population
comprises of Tanzanians and a good proportion of International
Students. The University welcomes students from Tanzania and
abroad to pursue their academic and professional goals while
enjoying a peaceful value-based environment.

The student population is obviously a mixture of international
breeding from Tanzania mainland, Zanzibar (Unguja & Pemba
Island), Malawi, Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Sudan, Comoros, Yemen
and Egypt. It is indeed conspicuous that the University vision,
mission and objectives are towards global competitiveness; thus
placing itself in optimistic horizon and propels towards academic

SUMAIT University has four faculties namely: Faculty of Education,
Faculty of Science, Faculty of Arts and Social Studies and Faculty of
Shariah and Islamic Studies.

Apart from these faculties, SUMAIT University has two Centers:

  1. The Centre for Research, Publication and Consultancy (CRPC);
  2. The Centre for Continuing Education which offers certificates and diplomas at NTA 4,5 and 6 levels recognized by NACTE and TCU.

Reading and Research are facilitated through the University Library which enchants about 13,000 volumes of books, subscribed journals and periodicals, in addition to the membership of COTUL and other learning bodies providing e-resources. Its reference section is noteworthy. The University Library has established E-Library services with more than 50 computers.

We welcome all students from Tanzania and abroad to SUMAIT
University to develop professional carrier and enjoy the peaceful
value based environment.